top of page

A Man Named Girard: Pet Plant Documentary


Girard the plant, with big green pointed leaves

Hey people, what's up? This is Girard. I don't know what kind of plant he is, but he is my special plant friend and I love him dearly. I got this plant from a shop in downtown Berlin, Maryland a few weeks ago, and I have decided to document what having a pet plant is like through the UP Cycled Thread.


My reason for getting a pet plant comes from a desire to learn more about plants and surround myself with nature. I plan on starting a garden soon in the hopes of growing food for myself and my family, and having Girard is a fun little side project.



Caring for Girard is relatively easy. The man sits on the kitchen sink right below a window where he is able to take in as much sunlight as his floral heart desires. Every other day he gets a nice and refreshing drink of water to wash down all that vitamin D. I've never really owned a plant before, but clearly, I'm doing something right! A few days ago, Girard sprouted tiny leaves!

Girard sprouting tiny green-yellow leaves

This was honestly relieving because when I first got Girard, I accidentally ripped off a few of his leaves trying to take him out of the paper bag he came in. Then, the same thing happened when transferring him from the black temporary pot thing (@ me, I don't know what they're called) to the pot he is in now. But despite all that, if the budding leaves are anything to go by, Girard is definitely happy and healthy!


Like I said, I don't even know what kind of plant Girard is, so I don't even know what to expect, but I'm excited for what's to come. If any of our plant-savvy readers know, please shoot me a message and share the knowledge!

New leaf growing at the top of Girard

That's all I have about Girard right now, but I will be sure to share any big updates. In the meantime, I would encourage all readers to go out and buy a pet plant. They aren't too expensive (Girard was a solid $5), and they're a great way to add some color and responsibility to your life. Hopefully, we can all learn a thing or two about plants and sustainable living from this little activity.

 

Enjoying our content? Subscribe to our newsletter below and never miss an update!


Also, be sure to follow us on Instagram @up.cycle.design and Facebook: UP Cycle Design


Don't forget to check out our Shop!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page