top of page

The Very First Post

Updated: Jun 27, 2022



Hello, hello! Welcome to The Upcycled Thread, a blog about upcycling and sustainability, and the happenings at UP Cycle Design. This blog will talk about topics that provide facts and statistics on the environment, topics that encourage sustainable practices (like recycling, upcycling, etc.), and we will share the story of our products!


We’ll have more about UP Cycle Design and our story in later posts, but to keep it short and simple, UP Cycle Design is a zero-waste, sustainable fashion brand that creates affordable, handmade, and upcycled products (“What is upcycling? You’ve mentioned it like 5 times already!” you might be thinking at this point. Check back next week to find out). At the time of this writing, UP Cycle Design has diverted over 115 pounds of fabric from landfills and used it to create cloth stickers, which can be found in our Shop.

Our three cloth stickers!

And lastly, but by no means the least, who am I? I’m the one who writes the blog, of course! Oh, you need more than that? Okay. My name is Todd Petrella, and I’m a senior Entrepreneurship major at the University of Delaware. I’m currently pursuing minors in Writing and Wildlife Conservation, hoping to combine all three subject areas into something that will generate a lasting positive impact for the environment.

Me in Japan with Mount Fuji in the background!


Sustainability has long been a passion of mine, and I’ve also recently acknowledged a love of wildlife. I’m very excited to be writing this blog and helping out a sustainability-based start-up as their newest intern. It’s taken me forever to find an internship where I felt like I was actually doing something worthwhile, and I think I’ve finally struck gold with UP Cycle Design.


Since this is a new blog for a relatively new start-up, things are destined to change as we figure out what does and/or does not work. And to find that out, we need help from YOU, the reader. Feel free to leave any thoughts, comments, or insights in the comment section below. Your feedback will definitely help us improve the quality of our blog, its content, and even our business, which in turn will help us improve the quality of our environment!


Thank you for reading, stay safe, and we look forward to seeing you back here on The Upcycled Thread!


Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page